Snowed In in Colorado

 

2015-05-10 09.12.32

All right, I’m going to say something that might be a little unpopular.

I love winter.

And I’m not talking winter in Florida. I love snow covered landscapes, the sting of freezing air on my cheeks, the smell of wood burning stoves (though that one’s a little hard to come by). I love the look of a pine forest lightly dusted in powdery white.

 

So, I guess I wasn’t too put out by the huge spring snowstorm that swept through Colorado on the day we were headed out. There’s nothing quite like driving through snow covered rockies, the beauty only matched by the terror.

After our visit to the Red Rock Amphitheater  we had a late start getting back to New Mexico. For anyone with experience driving in the mountains and/or snow, you know not to try and cross a mountain pass in the dark during a storm. So, when we reached a small ski town in the late afternoon we decided to stop in at a hotel.

Our wallet was really missing having our nice, comfy, free trailer with us, but we still managed to have a good time.  Especially since there were Krispy Kremes involved.

But the best part of our snowy adventure was still to come. The next morning the storm died down and we headed out bright and early. Of course, it didn’t take long for JJ to decide he needed a second breakfast. Through the screams I told Jake to find a place to pull over.

He found a place with a view.

2015-05-10 11.42.17

Staring out at the surreal beauty of Southern Colorado I made a decision. I want to live here someday. Right there. In the middle of that valley. Next to that pond. Of course, Jake had to go and be all pessimistic, pointing out that the whole valley is probably inaccessible and covered in snow for most of the year.

Nope. Don’t care. That’s my dream home.

Leave a Reply

