Mesa Verde: Visiting the Ancient Anasazi Ruins

2015-06-04 16.09.28

I’ve always been fascinated by the historical accounts of “cliff dwellers”, ancient Native Americans who carved their homes from mountain cliffs in southern Colorado and Utah. I knew some ruins still exist, and always dreamed of seeing them in person (I know, I know, I’m a total nerd).

During our stay in New Mexico that dream came true!

Setting out bright and early we drove through the Colorado mountains to get to Mesa Verde National Park. It was amazing! There are several different clusters of these amazing stone structures. Some can only be seen from viewpoints, while others you can hike to and explore up close.

2015-06-04 15.49.54

The people who built these villages knew a thing or two about efficiency. Even small cracks in the cliffside were used for storage, something I can appreciate as a full time RV dweller.

I was also fascinated by the layout of these structures, that housed and protected entire villages. I loved imagining the people living out their day to day lives in these tiny rooms. Cooking, cleaning, keeping their kids from falling off the cliff’s edges…That last one made me glad my in-laws had volunteered to watch the toddlers for the day!

What would it be like to go back in time and watch a day in the life of the ancient Pueblo people? We may never know, but getting a chance to walk in their footsteps, to view their homes, is an amazing experience that helps us come a little closer.

2015-06-04 12.05.40

Leave a Reply

