Giant Trees and Giant Statues

IMG_1518

On day 2 of our whirlwind Redwoods trip, we decided to hit the tourist spots. We only had a couple of hours to explore before checkout, but there were a couple of things we needed to see.

When I came to the Redwoods as a kid I was fascinated by the iconic giant statues of Paul Bunyan and Babe in front of the main gift shop. I was a nerdy, book loving kid, so finding a huge representation of characters I’d read about made me geek out a little (a lot). I knew I had to share this memorable experience with my own kids before we left.

 

They were a little young to appreciate the reference to classic American literature, but they still enjoyed seeing giant statues.

IMG_1523

2015-07-18 08.47.01

And sitting on a giant shoe.

IMG_1524

They found this bear statue interesting/terrifying.

Next stop was the drive thru tree. It looked like our huge dually pick up truck would fit, but it was close enough we just snapped the picture and backed it out.

IMG_1556

Then it was back to the campsite to hitch up and move on. I would have loved to spend more time here, but it just wasn’t in the cards. At least the Redwoods provided some stunning views on our way out!

IMG_1571

Leave a Reply

