Beach Bumming in California

2015-07-25 14.14.25

Ever since I was a little girl I’ve been going to Southern California for vacation. It was far enough away from Utah to feel like a real get away, but close enough that we could make the drive in one day. We’d stay with my great aunt and uncle and spend our days at the beach (mainly because they’re free).

 

Because of all these cherished childhood memories I’ve always had a bit of a bias for California beaches. My husband, who grew up in the Pacific Northwest, couldn’t understand why I was so eager to go to a beach in CA when we had spent the last month hanging out in Astoria. But he supported me.

Our first weekend in L.A we packed up everything we’d need for a day at the beach, and loaded the kids in the truck. After the usual stress of navigating our giant vehicle through L.A. traffic, searching for a parking space, parking way farther than we’d like, and walking to the beach, we finally settled in to relax and play.

We had fun at the beach. We did. It was a blast. But, if I’m honest, I have to admit that Jake was right. There was nothing special about the beach in California. It’s warmer than the frigid Oregon coast, true, but the lack of sun burns up north are made up for in other ways. Here the beach was crowded, the sand was course and litter ridden. I couldn’t help but long for the days in Astoria when we would drive right onto the beach and find a cozy stretch of sand without anyone else in either direction. I guess it just goes to show, you don’t know what you have till it’s gone.

But, like I said, we had fun. A day at the beach is a day at the beach. I can’t complain about that!

IMG_1579

What are your thoughts. Anyone out there prefer California beaches to the Oregon coast? Or vice versa?

Leave a Reply

